Slocan Valley Economic Development Commission

Detailed Information

The Slocan Valley Economic Development Commission (SVEDC) is comprised of annually appointed representatives from RDCK Area H and its three municipalities – New Denver, Silverton, and Slocan.

The overall strategy of the Slocan Valley Economic Development Commission is to:
1. Promote sustainable, diversified economic growth;
2. Work with and for all economic sectors;
3. Support existing businesses;
4. Promote alliances between businesses;
5. Partner with other bodies engaged in economic development activities with similar goals;
6. Focus on specific results. The Commission will not do unneeded economic studies.

SVEDC targets three ways to implement this strategy:

• We act as an advocate, in partnership with the local governments and other organizations, to encourage other levels of government to adopt policies in support of rural economic growth;

• We participate in project-based initiatives (such as group-marketing, and development of this website) that will benefit Slocan Valley businesses;

• We provide small grants to non-profit societies and community organizations for activities that further the goal of economic development.

Our top priorities have been marketing the Slocan Valley, and bringing Broadband communications to the Slocan Valley.

SVEDC Directors meet approximately bi-monthly, and periodically engage the public in developing our strategy and identifying ways to implement it.