Slocan Valley logo Our Communities

The Slocan Valley comprises 3 municipalities in the north — New Denver, Silverton and the Village of Slocan — and roughly eighteen other unincorporated communities in Area H of the RDCK — Regional District of Central Kootenay.

In the south valley, the most noticeable communities are Crescent Valley, Slocan Park and Winlaw and they have the most services for travellers.

The distinct historical origins of each community have shaped what they are today… from Doukhobor settlements to mining towns gone bust, to an influx of “back to the landers” and knowledge workers escaping the bustle of the city.

Before the spectacular Highway 6 blasted through a steep rocky bluff north of Slocan Village — there was a significant physical (and cultural) separation between the north and south valley.

But today, “North of the Bluffs — South of the Bluffs” is a subtle cultural distinction.

To most visitors and residents, the Slocan Valley is a community that is a 90 minute drive.

Take a journey through the valley and meet each of these communities. They are listed here north to south.